

PM confers Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prizes for S&T

01 March 2019 | News

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology was instituted in the year 1957.



Prime Minister Narendra Modi recently conferred Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) prizes for the years 2016, 2017 and 2018 in New Delhi.

The SSB prize is awarded each year on the basis of conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress, made through work done primarily in India during the five years, preceding the year of the prize.

The SSB prize, comprising a citation, a cash award of Five Lakh rupees and a plaque is given to each person selected for the award in the following disciplines viz. Biological sciences, Chemical Sciences, Medical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering Sciences and Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Science.

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology was instituted in the year 1957, in the memory of late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, the founder director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research(CSIR). Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible to be nominated.

List of receipients in the field of Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences-

Dr Rishikesh Narayanan, Indian Insitute of Science- 2016- Biological Sciences

Dr Suvendra Nath Bhattacharya, Indian Institute of Chemical Biology- 2016- Biological Sciences

Dr Niyaz Ahmed A S, University of Hyderabad- 2016- Medical Sciences

Dr Deepak T Nair, Regional Centre of Biotechnology- 2017- Biological Sciences

Dr Sanjeev Das, National Institute of Immunology- 2017- Biological Sciences Dr Amit Dutt, ACTREC, Tata Memorial Centre- 2017- Medical Sciences Dr Deepak Gaur, Jawaharlal Nehru University- 2017- Medical Sciences

Dr Ganesh Nagaraju, Indian Insitute of Science- 2018- Biological Sciences

Dr Thomas Pucadyil, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research- 2018- Biological Sciences

Dr Ganesan V, NIMHANS- 2018- Medical Sciences